Grateful Dead Live at Hartford Civic Center on 1980-05-10


Grateful Dead, “Grateful Dead Live at Hartford Civic Center on 1980-05-10,” Grateful Dead Archive Online, accessed February 14, 2016,


Set 1:
01 crowd & tuning
02 Minglewood
03 Peggy O
04 Mexicali Blues >
05 El Paso
06 Althea
07 Passenger
08 Far From Me
09 Lost Sailor >
10 Saint of Circumstance >
11 Deal

Set 2:
01 crowd & tuning
02 China Cat Sunflower >
03 I Know You Rider
04 crowd & tuning
05 Feel Like a Stranger >
06 Comes a Time >
07 Estimated Prophet >
08 He's Gone >
09 Uncle John's Band >
10 Drums >
11 Space >
12 Not Fade Away >
13 Sugar Magnolia

01 Alabama Getaway >
02 One More Saturday Night


  • Notes:

    Mics on a stand, next to the soundboard.

    This is from the same MAC that became ShnID-7559, but is an upgrade to
    that file-set as follows:
    - One of the transfers in the lineage of 7559 was run way too hot, and
    all the wav's ended up clipped and distorted. This seed is an excellent
    transfer from the MAC and a major improvement in sound quality.
    - This source does not have the drop-outs in He's Gone that are on 7559.
    - The two tape flips in the second set have been patched with material
    from Steve Rolfe's tape (ShnID-18158), so the second set is seamless.

    Rolfe reports he was set up "right beside the soundboard on the left
    side". As the same people can be heard yelling on both sources, it's
    presumed that the tapers were set up very near to each other.

    Patches from ShnID-18158 are located in: Passenger (crowd noise at end)
    5:09 > 5:23, Estimated Prophet 9:12 > 9:21, Drums 8:39 > 8:47. WavMerge
    and CD-Wave were used to combine and retrack the file set. Soundforge
    was used to make fades, and to insert the patches. TLH was used for SBE
    fix, lossless compression, and checksums. There are numerous fireworks
    and loud explosions during the show. THANKS to Jim for the discs!


  • 172:43.41

Donor and Provenance:

  • MAC > CD (likely equipment: Nakamichi Dragon > HHB CDR burner) > EAC > WavMerge > Soundforge > CD-Wave > TLH > FLAC

Accession Number:

  • gd1980-05-10.aud.wise.83063.sbeok.flac16

Archival Resource Key:

  • ark:/38305/g4td9xw4


Add a new tag:


Allowed HTML tags: <p>, <a>, <em>, <strong>, <ul>, <ol>, <li>