Grateful Dead Live at Winterland Arena on 1978-10-17


Grateful Dead, “Grateful Dead Live at Winterland Arena on 1978-10-17,” Grateful Dead Archive Online, accessed February 6, 2016,


Set 1

The Promised Land
Friend Of The Devil
Mama Tried ->
Mexicali Blues
Tennessee Jed
I Need A Miracle
Stagger Lee
Jack Straw

Set 2

Scarlet Begonias ->
Fire On The Mountain
Estimated Prophet ->
Eyes Of The World ->
Drums ->
Space ->
If I Had The World To Give ->
Around And Around

U.S. Blues


  • Despite some minor flaws, this is the best representation of what went
    down at Winterland in October of 1978 (short of an official Vault
    release which we can only hope for). All five shows come from
    soundboard sources of varying degrees of quality. Some sets are
    spliced together from various sources, with an audience patch at the
    end of 10/21/78 Stella Blue. There are some cuts due to cassette

    Special thanks to dug for the sources.

Accession Number:

  • gd1978-10-17.sbd.nugs.21243.sbeok.flac16

Archival Resource Key:

  • ark:/38305/g4959jnc


Add a new tag:


Allowed HTML tags: <p>, <a>, <em>, <strong>, <ul>, <ol>, <li>