Grateful Dead Live at Rainbow Theater on 1981-10-04


Grateful Dead, “Grateful Dead Live at Rainbow Theater on 1981-10-04,” Grateful Dead Archive Online, accessed February 10, 2016,


Set 1

Jam-> Jack Straw, Friend Of The Devil-> El Paso, Jack A Roe, Beat It On Down The Line, Brown Eyed Women-> Minglewood Blues, Row Jimmy, Let It Grow-> Deal

Set 2

Cold Rain & Snow-> Samson & Delilah, Scarlet Begonias-> Fire On The Mountain, Lost Sailor-> Saint Of Circumstance-> Drums-> The Other One-> Wharf Rat-> Sugar Magnolia, E: Don't Ease Me In


  • Notes: Same root source as ID-12887, and with the same cuts and tape flips,
    however, this version does not suffer from the heavy-handed noise reduction
    and pitch problems found on that one. This version is aprx 3rd or 4th Gen;
    there's some hiss and minor pitch issues, but it's very listenable...enjoy!

    An AUD source (MAC > DAT, thanks Richie!) covers the following:
    - banter & tuning, 0:00 > 0:51.
    - Minglewood Blues, 2:52 > 3:10.
    - Cold Rain & Snow, 0:00 > 0:25.
    - Samson & Delilah, 2:28 > 2:42.
    - Saint of Circumstance, 5:39 > 6:08.
    - Sugar Magnolia, 3:28 > 3:41.

    On both Seaweed's tape and ID-12887, Sugar Magnolia and Don't Ease Me In seem
    to derive from an alternate source, and sounded somewhat better on the ID-12887
    source. Those two songs were pitch-adjusted and added onto this file-set. The
    AUD DAT did not cover the start of Don't Ease, so is still missing a small bit.


  • 183:41.49

Donor and Provenance:

  • Maxell XLIIS > Nakamichi DR-2 > Edirol FA-66 > Wavelab > R8Brain > CD-Wave > TLH > FLAC 1644 tagged. Transfer by Andrew F. Januray 2012

Accession Number:

  • gd1981-10-04.sbd.seaweed.bernie-brown.118248.flac1644

Archival Resource Key:

  • ark:/38305/g41c1z0c


Add a new tag:


Allowed HTML tags: <p>, <a>, <em>, <strong>, <ul>, <ol>, <li>