Grateful Dead Live at Mammoth Gardens on 1970-04-24


Grateful Dead, “Grateful Dead Live at Mammoth Gardens on 1970-04-24,” Grateful Dead Archive Online, accessed February 10, 2016,


Disc 1
Acoustic Set
1. I Know You Rider
2. The Monkey & The Engineer
3. Friend Of The Devil
4. Me & My Uncle
5. Candyman
6. Uncle John's Band

Disc 2
Electric Set
1. Easy Wind
2. Cumberland Blues
3. //Dire Wolf
4. //Dark Star-->
5. St. Stephen-->
6. The Eleven-->
7. Drums%-->
8. Jam//


  • This recording was rather distant from the source, and may therefore be more
    useful to collectors for historical value. The acoustic set may be complete,
    though the electric set is certainly missing songs after the jam and possibly
    before and after Dire Wolf. There is occasional tape flutter during the
    recording. Sound Forge was used to normalize, correct the pitch, and smooth
    some blemishes.

    --only first few notes missing from Dire Wolf
    --only first few notes missing from Dark Star
    --Feelin' Groovy Jam @ 12:43 in Dark Star
    --Tighten Up Jam @ 13:50 in Dark Star

    Part of The Music Never Stopped Project 2002 shn em up initiative

    thanks to Chuck Gannon
    edits/encoding by J. Cotsman

Accession Number:

  • gd1970-04-24.aud.cotsman.9498.sbefail.shnf

Archival Resource Key:

  • ark:/38305/g47081x1


Add a new tag:


Allowed HTML tags: <p>, <a>, <em>, <strong>, <ul>, <ol>, <li>