Grateful Dead Live at Fillmore West on 1970-08-19

Acoustic Set

1. Monkey & The Engineer
2. How Long Blues
3. Friend Of The Devil
4. Dark Hollow
5. Candyman
6. Ripple->
7. Brokedown Palace
8. Truckin'
9. Cocaine Blues
10. Rosalie McFall
11. Wake Up Little Susie
12. New Speedway Boogie
13. Cold Jordan
14. Swing Low Sweet Chariot

Electric Set:

15. Cold Rain & Snow
16. Me & My Uncle
17. Easy Wind


1. China Cat Sunflower->
2. I Know You Rider
3. Saint Stephen->
4. Sugar Magnolia
5. Good Lovin'
6. New Minglewood Blues
7. Casey Jones
8. Not Fade Away**->
9. Turn On Your Lovelight**

*with David Nelson
**with David Crosby
The original taper(s) stopped the tape between most songs during the acoustic set and some of the electric set. I have crossfaded the tracks together to smooth the cuts and provide a generally more pleasant listening experience. No music was lost (and no further tinkering was attempted), although I have removed some crowd and a wee bit o' tuning to tighten things up and facilitate a two disc set. To accomplish this, I decoded the original sources with xACT, lightly edited several tracks in Peak LE 5.2, and did the crossfades in Jam 5. Encoding to FLAC was done with Toast 7.1.2, compression level 6.

CDJones 1/17/2007

From the original sources:

Set 1:
Master Audience Cassette; Sony TC-124 with Sony Stereo Mic
Master cassettes played back on Nakamichi Dragon >
Digital Audio Labs Card Deluxe soundcard (96Mhz/24 bit)> HD
Editing performed in Adobe Audition; Dithered and downsampled to 44.1 MHz / 16 bit;
Transfer and FLAC encoding by David Minches.

This is a very fine recording, especially of the acoustic set and includes 4 songs that aren't in circulation. The tape deck was paused in between songs causing a "whooshing" sound which I partially edited out. The first few notes of many of the songs are missing due to the pausing but do not allow that to take away from the excellence of the recording. There are other anomalies and cuts, some of which I had not listed.

Set 2:
--a quote from deadlists: "The Taper's Compendium seriously misrepresents the quality of this AUD master, and of the previous night's."

Part of The Music Never Stopped Project 2002

Thanks to Raoul Duke
edits/encoding by Matt Vernon & JCotsman
Accession Number
Archival Resource Key